Things Get Complicated.

Complicated. Is a word I avoid. I like things simple.

Today, I ordered a copy of Snow Leopard for my Macbook. For those PC lovers or Mac users behind on the times, Snow Leopard is the refined version of Apple’s current operating system. It boasts a faster start up and shut down speed, better exchange technology, and smoother running capabilities. The tagline: “The world’s most advanced operating system. Finely tuned.” It sounds great. But one of my concerns was that this huge download is going to take over my computer and take forever to set up and reorganize.  It is going to complicate everything. Just one more headache, right? And the old system isn’t that bad, should I really upgrade? Researching the new system to see if it is actually worth the bother, I find there is no bother at all. This is why I love Apple. They have thought over everything. Right under the paragraph promising my Mac will start up x2 faster that before, there is this little tidbit:

“Upgrading your Mac has never been easier. For Snow Leopard, the entire process has been simplified, streamlined, and is up to 50 percent faster, yet more comprehensive and reliable. For example, Snow Leopard checks your applications to make sure they’re compatible and sets aside any programs known to be incompatible. In case a power outage interrupts your installation, it can start again without losing any data”

Yes. This is going to be good. So I ordered my copy and it will be at my dorm on Friday.

A couple of weeks ago, when I was explaining to a friend about some difficulties in my life, she asked the question, “If life was easy, would it be worth living?” I didn’t really think about it at the time. But coming back to it, the definite answer is “Yes.” I would love if life were easy. Pretty sure that’s how God intended it in the garden of Eden.

Will life ever be easy? Uh, No. In the words of my bestie Natalie Nole because, “we live in a fallen world.”

I have these two weeks of non-obligation and supposed relaxation between Carl and Kent. No campers, no class. Really no anything. True I still need to pack for college, but other than that there isn’t too much I have to do. So how do I get tangled up in the spindles of life when I am sitting still on a couch? Even though my body isn’t running like crazy, my heart and mind are. And I am convinced that they will never stop going round the gerbil wheel until I kick the bucket. I’d like to think that the majority of things in my life are simple. I’m not a drama sort of girl. I tell people how I am feeling except for when letting it out would create more chaos than it is worth. But there are a few complications thrown in here and there, some relationships that don’t work out so tidy, some financial situations that aren’t so easy to handle and some decisions that aren’t easy to make. But so is life.

Tomorrow, I will be moving into my new dorm at Kent State University. These two weeks will be over. I will be at the opposite end of the pole. Starting a so-called new life. I will have to figure out the little details of where to do laundry and how to pick up my Snow Leopard when it comes. I will have to do the big tasks too: find a job, get in academic mode, find a church, and make new friends. Exciting but utterly terrifying in its complication.

It is nice to know though that there is someone coming with me. There is a comforting constant in my life. We met when I was just a child. He survived high school with me and we have been going to camp together for 11 years. He followed me to OSU and we took Math 151 and 152 together. He spent the last two weeks with me. And tomorrow my Father and my Savior is helping me move in at Kent. It has been a long journey and sometimes I lost sight of Him, but nevertheless He has been by my side the entire way. He makes my life simple. He makes my life easy.

Recently, I volunteered at a Christian event called The 99. I worked as a counselor and was blessed with the opportunity to pray with more than 30 strangers. We were instructed to ask the individual we were counseling whether they believed that God was big enough to handle the problems in their life. Telling person after person that He is big enough to handle anything, it was like the little train that could. But instead of “I think I can; I think I can” it was  “He can; He can.” God holds supreme authority over everything. And equally amazing, God has promised to be faithful to us. He has promised to stay by our side (Hebrews 13:5).

Life may be complicated. But God the Father knows what is happening. Apple knows their software, God knows His creation. God is working in my heart and life. And He is working in the life of my future employer. He is working in the hearts of my future friends and even in the heart of my future husband. He makes the challenges exciting. I am apprehensive to enter the college realm again, but I am excited to see how God will be working.

Tomorrow God and I join the league of Golden Flashes. The adventure together continues.

About megannet

I am a self-motivated multimedia journalist seeking a career in the creative film and documentary industry. I am a recent graduate of Kent State University with a B.S. in Broadcast Journalism.

One comment

  1. calebandmolly

    But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 2 Corinthians 12:9

    A woman shared that verse with me yesterday, and it was the best thing I heard all day.

Leave a Reply

