Apple Stickers Are What I Live For…?

0829091252 As promised my Snow Leopard arrived in the mail yesterday. How exciting, right! So I opened the little brown cardboard box and removed the little white box with the picture of what else, a snow leopard, on the front. I then proceeded to open the little white box to find:

1. My disc

2. The instructions and

3. Joy of all joys! Apple stickers!

Yeah I know I just paid $30 for the software but the stickers excite me more. Which got me thinking…why? I mean seriously, I must have six or so by now. I got two with my macbook, two with my iPod, and now two more. So my elementary math tells me six. Now out of these six, how many have I used? Zero. Yep that’s right none of these wonderful stickers have gone to use. In fact, I’m not even certain where the first two went.

So I question myself, why do the little things get me so worked up. And I think God is looking down at me chuckling. When my relationship with one person doesn’t work out, I go over-thinking everything and then self-doubting and judging and expending so much of my energy on the matter. Of the 6,780,750,104 other people on this world I am concerned only about two, my friend and myself. 2 out of 6,780,750,106! Now that is just staggering. I imagine God looking down over all those people and just shaking His head at me. How can I not care about everyone else? Why don’t I see the big picture?

Now I don’t think God expects us to be Him. There is no way we can get the “universal picture.” But the big picture, yes. The rest of my little cosmos, sure. So what is it? I think the big picture is what God has been telling us the entire time: love. Love not as a noun, as a verb. “Jesus replied: ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind. This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: Love your neighbor as yourself.'”(Matthew 22:37-39).

Yeah, yeah. I know. Everyone knows that, right? That is what you’re thinking isn’t it. Then seriously why are we always thinking about ourselves? Sometimes I feel I am living my life searching for that one special person to love me and for me to love. And while yes that is a big factor in my life, shouldn’t I be extending my heart to the rest of the people around me? God will bring my husband in due time. He is just 1 man in my life, while I wait why don’t I focus on the hundreds of others in my life.

Back to the stickers. I fall in love with these little white apples and then do nothing with them. I say I love love, but then what do I do with it? I hold it back for that one person (now take note I am not talking about “making love” that is something different), instead of loving on everyone around me. God has given us these choices about who to love.

I want to love everyone. I don’t want to hold back my love solely for one other person. My heart is big enough to love more than one.  It seems so selfish to keep to myself. Potential is everywhere, now it’s just a matter of the kinetics. Getting it moving. Does that mean I have to stop focusing on this one relationship? If it is preventing me from loving everyone around me, yes. If not, no. That is what is so great; God made our hearts to be able to love in more than one way. I love my future husband differently than I love my friends. But it is all love.

Last Sunday, I went to my sister’s church, Youngstown Metro. Their motto is: Love is my cause. Shouldn’t that be every Christian’s life motto. God is love. God sent Christ out of love. Christ died for me out of love, so I could live to love.

So I could live to love. And thats the big picture. And the little sticker. That is my cause. Love is my reason for being. I am not going to let one relationship close up my heart from the rest of the world, no matter how bad it hurts.

So I finally used one of those little stickers on my bookshelf. It looks pretty sweet and will serve as a good reminder that the little things are important but that is not always what it’s all about.

About megannet

I am a self-motivated multimedia journalist seeking a career in the creative film and documentary industry. I am a recent graduate of Kent State University with a B.S. in Broadcast Journalism.

Leave a Reply

