A Little Bit of Kent and a Little Bit of Life

my home for the school year

my home for the school year

I have been a Golden Flash for a little under one week now. And I must admit while I do miss a bit about OSU, Kent is shaping up to be quite the place to be.

The professors here are motivated about their classes, there seems to be an overall goodwill towards the students’ educations. And they aren’t graduate students, but legitimate professionals. My Media Writing instructor has been a newspaper editor for the last +25 years of her life and now she is grading my papers. It’s intimidating, but such a great opportunity.

The campus is nice; everything almost seems new, at least on the interior all of the older buildings have been refurbished. My dorm is like a hotel: carpeting, my own bathroom, a little fridge and microwave, complete with a fairly comfy bed. My roomie is from Japan and easy to get along with, although I am sure she can’t understand what I am saying half of the time. She is here to learn English as a second language.

And I am here to learn broadcast journalism and the various media of the news. It is amazing how many different forms there are. Everyday we are bombarded by some source using some media and we are the target of their message. Think about it. The media is inescapable.

Now I will admit, I am not too keen on writing and writing and writing. But when I envision myself in a third world country talking to villagers and sharing their stories with the world, that excites me. The Dominican Republic. That motivates me. There is no lack of events and places and people to report about. No one knows everything, but it is exciting that I will get to inform others and myself about even a small slice of the world.

That was Kent, and here is life:

Life is not too bad right now. Like I had said in an earlier post I typically like ending things, I don’t like beginnings. This still holds true, my homework assignments are inches thick in reading and writing. It is a little overbearing. At the same time I am working to find a job and make new friends. Both of which are slow going. I have applied to at least 10 different jobs and haven’t heard back from one. And I suppose I am a lot more shy than I remembered about meeting new people. I don’t want to bother them so I just go about my business and I am not in constant contact with any group of people in particular, but it is only the second day of classes so I’m sure it will all come in due time. Last year God provided for me and I am relying on Him again this year.

He is still working on me about relationships and trusting Him with all aspects of my life. But right now it is 1:00 in the morning and I have class in eight hours, so perhaps I will share a bit more in-depth when I get the chance. God should have my full attention.

So then good night! Wish me luck, tomorrow I am starting a new class that I just added to my schedule: Political Methods. Doesn’t sound like too much fun…

About megannet

I am a self-motivated multimedia journalist seeking a career in the creative film and documentary industry. I am a recent graduate of Kent State University with a B.S. in Broadcast Journalism.

Leave a Reply

