Handing It All Over

As promised, here are some of the ideas floating around in my heart that God has been teaching me:

First, He is so good.

In my last post, I mentioned the stress of looking for a job. I literally applied everywhere (except the food places- they are always my last resort). I even filled out an online application to be a nanny. How that would even work out I have no clue. But Chris and I decided on the name Nanny-Marge. Pretty catchy if you pronounce the y in “nanny” as an a. I also set up an account with a website named Associated Content that pays you a dollar or so to write short articles about random topics such as “Gluten Free Halloween Treats” and “Pet Cemetery in Your Area.” I don’t think I could even write the 400 words about the topics they offered me. But hey a job is a job. It’s not my career, so any extra income is welcome.

I stopped by the office in the journalism building on a whim, hoping that just maybe they would have some sort of secretarial work. Nope, but I was directed to check with Student Media, across the hall. Here, I met Gail and Lisa. Two overly nice women. We chatted it up and they told me that they just might be able to offer me a couple hours of work taking calls for advertisement inserts into the Kent Stater (the campus newspaper). I returned the application they gave me along with my resume and cover letter. Now I am just waiting for a call after the holiday.

Even a couple of hours a week would be great. But then don’t you know it, I got a call in response to an online application I had filled out for a Student Assistant position with Donor Services. I really have no idea what the job description was, but its on campus and I am pretty sure it is some sort of secretarial work. I have an interview on Tuesday.

I gotta give God the credit here. I went from zero jobs to two possibilities!

He is so good. Providing for my every need. I am learning to trust Him with everything in my life, like getting a job.

This applies to more than just the job market. It is all of life.

It shouldn’t be hard for us to put our lives in God’s hands. After all, He does have ultimate power and authority over the entire universe.

Caravaggio_Doubting_ThomasBut the fact of the matter is we are human so it is hard. And God understands that. When the disciple Thomas had doubts about the other disciples seeing Jesus risen from the dead, God didn’t brush him off to the side. Jesus came to him and told Thomas to put his finger in his side and believe.(John 20:24-29)

We need to put ourselves out there for God to work in our lives. We need to surrender everything to Him. And not just that, we need to leave it with Him and quit trying to take it back. We need faith.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
and do not lean on your own understanding.
In all your ways acknowledge him,
and he will make straight your paths.” (Proverbs 3:5-6)

I have read/ heard this verse hundreds of times and it has never been as real to me as it is now. I can’t even lean on my own ideas? Nope. It all needs to be given to Him.

I am learning from the best teacher. I am trusting God with my life and I am giving Him my ideas, hopes, dreams, and life.

About megannet

I am a self-motivated multimedia journalist seeking a career in the creative film and documentary industry. I am a recent graduate of Kent State University with a B.S. in Broadcast Journalism.

Leave a Reply

