To Major or Not to Major? That is Only One of the Questions.

Wow! It has been too long since I’ve written.
It is not that I’ve gotten too busy, I guess I’ve just had a lot on my mind.

 

There is always something to be decided. And to tell you the truth I am not a big fan of choosing. Now, I wouldn’t call myself indecisive, because when there is something to be decided I will decide it, believe, you, me. But I guess in this instance I am.

I am currently deciding my major. Yes, I know next semester I will technically be a junior, so this might seem a little late but I am. I have been meeting with academic advisers all over the place.

I am not enjoying my JMC classes, which leads me to doubt if I have the right major in the first place. I don’t want to do the news, because I feel it will take too much time and effort to get to the international level, where I would want to be. I had wanted to make documentaries and I thought broadcast journalism would be close to that. When I see myself in the future, I hopefully envision myself traveling around the world to research the issues that intrigue me so I can make documentaries on them. I don’t want to be in a dark busy newsroom writing articles.

Since I am only 2 years away from finishing with journalism, I feel like I have to finish it. I just wish I enjoyed Kent more. When I am in classes, it is fine; but other than that Kent is just lonely- so those 2 years will be long for me.

I have been debating whether or not to add a second major. If I did it would either be International Relations or Architectural Studies.

Here is what is tumbling around in my head:

If I add International Relations, there are A LOT of classes I will need to add; each quarter will be maxed out with 20+ hours. It will be really hard and at the same point the classes I would have to take are by no means extraordinary courses. They are your basic geography, economics, and political science classes, along with 5 language classes. Something just seems impractical.

But I really want to travel and work on the international level in whatever career I have.

OR

If I add Architectural Studies, it will also require a lot of work. Most of the required classes are on a rigid track and that might mean more time stuck at college. And do I really want a career in architecture where I am not the architect?

But I do miss architecture and this could also involve a study abroad in Florence.

Do you see where I am confused. Add that to my general disconnect with Kent and the idea that maybe I should go to a Christian college- I just get bogged down with thinking and planning and questioning.

So I am indecisive in the end, I wish God would audibly tell me what to do.

 

 

About megannet

I am a self-motivated multimedia journalist seeking a career in the creative film and documentary industry. I am a recent graduate of Kent State University with a B.S. in Broadcast Journalism.

Leave a Reply

