For God alone…

I did it. Today I signed the form declaring my second major in…drumroll please… Architectural Studies. I came to the conclusion that the International Relation classes were not practically useful and I will be able to travel internationally with the Peace Corp. (we will talk about this one later). Also that I will focus on journalism as my primary major and just worry about fitting in the arch classes when I can. Taking arch will give me the chance to study abroad in Florence for a semester, which I am very excited about. And it will allow me to be creative. Next semester therefore I am dropping the spanish class I had signed up for and adding History of Architecture III.

Last night, I watched this amazing video by Rob Bell. (I will put the link at the end of my post.) It was about noise and letting the world take over our time with God. I realize I have been constantly asking for God to guide me and give me knowledge and direction, and at the same time filing up the silence in my life with noise. I have found myself saying over and over that I wish God would speak audibly to me about what to do with my life and in everyday decisions. But I don’t give Him the quiet to answer in. Not that God needs quiet, but still I am now consciously aware not that God has not been speaking but that I have not been listening. It struck me pretty hard. I have not been looking at the silence in my life as a time to be reverent, but as loneliness and maybe that is not what it really is…

Rob Bell says that we should not be looking for a fix in the next sermon or in earthquakes and fires, but in the quiet.

“For God alone my soul waits in silence; from Him comes my salvation” Psalm 62:1

“Be still and know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10


About megannet

I am a self-motivated multimedia journalist seeking a career in the creative film and documentary industry. I am a recent graduate of Kent State University with a B.S. in Broadcast Journalism.

Leave a Reply

