My Weekend: Academics and Ice Cream

Tonight I embark on the academic journey of a weekend! Well technically I started yesterday morning. This is a long and short weekend for me. Long in the sense that I have a lot to do and short in the sense that I have a little amount of time to get it all done. I have 2 fairly large exams: 1 in Political Methods, which involves statistic and a great deal of other confusing topics and 1 in American Politics, which is quite detail oriented and trickily written. I have 3 assignments to write: 1 letter to an elected official on the topic of “gay marriage” and 2 broadcasts to be written for a somewhat picky professor. In addition, I hope to be able to finally fill out my RA application. So so much to do!

Yesterday morning, I met with my Poli Meth professor to go over some statistic problems and I must say I am still utterly confused about them. Although it was reassuring that he promises to hold you more accountable for the knowledge and comprehension of the material that the actual answers you get for the problems. Also, since I have shown that I am generally interested in learning the material, I am sure he will be lenient on my exam. Just the other day I turned in an assignment and the last two problems I had no clue how to figure out so I wrote that along with a general explanation of the concepts and received full credit. If this is any indication of the exam I will be fine. Also he is letting us use all our resources- I would feel a bit more comfortable if I have the current edition of the textbook, but if all else fails I figure there is always google.

For that class I still need to study the new text I copied, the old text, powerpoint presentations, homework problems, and the online site.

Today I spent 4 hours in the library studying American Politics; I am sad to say that is the time it took for me to read and take notes on just one chapter in the book. I still have two chapters to go, as well as class notes, and online notes.

I wrote my letter to the elected official quite quickly and since it is not being graded I didn’t have to spend the amount of time researching for it that I would have otherwise.

I have one draft of a broadcast and the other I haven’t had time to begin.

I am split in my emotions over all of this. On one hand, I have a lot on my plate and I am nervous I won’t be adequately prepared for either exam. Also it is frustrating that with all the hours I have been putting in, I still seem to have made no headway. But on the other hand, I definitely missed having to really study. I guess I just wish I had missed it a week ago and started studying super early. Although the last 2 assignments were recently assigned so I can’t really help that.

Well I suppose I should get back to work. Although I plan on running out and grabbing some ice cream to keep me company, probably not a good idea seeing as it’s already 10 at night, but I’ll work it off this summer right…?

Wish me luck!

About megannet

I am a self-motivated multimedia journalist seeking a career in the creative film and documentary industry. I am a recent graduate of Kent State University with a B.S. in Broadcast Journalism.

Leave a Reply

