I am an Extremophile

My life has fallen into the seemingly endless abyss of the dreaded finals week. Okay so one week isn’t endless, it’s 7 days, but I feel like it started two weeks ago. In all reality finals week is next week. So I have 5 finals to study for. Now of course as every professor seems to become dazed at this moment, it is their duty to assign 4 papers and pile on 2 more exams for good measure. Oh and all those applications to work for student media next semester.

In the great works of Cathy: “Ack!”

I never enjoyed this comic as a child. I guess I never understood the humor...

As stress is loaded on, sleep moves to the top of my priority list. As in, I seriously attempt tot be to bed by at least 1am (vs 3am which is when I seem to go to bed typically). I firure it is best to have a decent amount of sleep before my exams. But of course the stress keeps me awake and brings along the company of old stress.

Things get so off-balance. For instance I took a 3.5 hour nap yesterday but only slept 3 hours at night…? It makes no sense.

It is a strange relationship:

work↑ stress ↑ want for sleep ↑ real hours of sleep↓

coffee consumption↑↑ real hours of sleep↓↓

What’s worse, I swear I thrive off of it. All of a sudden I want to be the best academician possible. I want my papers to enlighten even my professors and I want straight As on all my exams. But of course I want to accomplish this in the easiest manner possible. There must be some sort of diagnosis for this.

Well I have 3 of the papers out of the way  so far. And the last one will be written tonight although in truth I have been dreading writing it since it is a 5 page argument on “gay marriage.”

Oh and this weekend I have an interview at Old Navy. Pray and wish me luck! Having a job over winter break would be very good.

Onward! One step at a time. Carpe Diem!

For my fellow extremophiles and stressed student peers:

A little break for something funny is always good too.

About megannet

I am a self-motivated multimedia journalist seeking a career in the creative film and documentary industry. I am a recent graduate of Kent State University with a B.S. in Broadcast Journalism.

Leave a Reply

