Spring Semester Begins/ Student Media/ Resolutions 20-10

The first week of my spring semester here at Kent is essentially over now. I have to work tomorrow and still have yet to take my Videography Basics course, but have taken all my other classes at least once. My teachers have been taking the first week pretty easy on us. So right now I don’t have too much to stress over. I am enjoying it while it lasts.

This semester I am taking 7 classes:

1] Architecture History III: I am a bit nervous about this one. I haven’t been in the architecture world for a while. And it most certainly is a whole different world. I am glad to be doing architecture again, but nervous to step back into the world where sometimes things don’t make sense for no reason other than style. I will write more about this in another post.

2] College Writing II: Not so much looking forward to this class. It seems for college we always have to write useless papers that serve no purpose in life and don’t aid my learning process either. I am not trying to sound arrogant, it is just I can write perfectly fine and I don’t have time to spend writing something that is not worth putting into words.

3] Voice Class: So far is fun. I placed as a soprano and am excited to see what songs my teachers will chose for me. I hope I have enough time to practice though!

4] Honors Intro to Human Communications: this is a speech class. My teacher is a bit excitable, but the class is promising. I already have to give a 5 min speech on Tuesday, hoping my confidence lasts until then.

5] Honors News Writing: I don’t like writing for the news. It is bland and full of small rules about what words you should or should not put into a story. But my teacher is nice. He seems to be expecting a lot from us though and I envision the homework stacking up pretty high for this class.

6] US Modern History: I don’t like history. Stories from the past and all are interesting but I swear they don’t pertain to my life and learning history hasn’t prevented any problems from happening twice. The whole we learn history so we can move forward and not repeat the same mistakes is a joke. We will always make the same mistakes.

7] Videography Basics: nothing yet. I am looking forward to this one though

I am also involved in more student media than I was last semester:

I re-auditioned for the radio. I am hoping for a show where I will be able to discuss international issues and play indie/alt/folk/world music. No news yet on whether I got a spot or not.

I am a features correspondent for the Daily Kent Stater and KentWired.com. This is going very well. I am in the process of writing 2 articles that both seem pretty interesting. After this week though I will not be writing as much only because I am sure my classes will require more of my time.

I am also an assistant producer for the TV2 News on Fridays, so far I haven’t done anything for this, nor have I been contacted about what the position actually entails. All I was told was that I would be able to assistant produce and work on Friday at my job too.


Walking with Christ through it all

In taking on so much to do I realize that it becomes easy to let Christ slip to the back burner. This is something I will definitely be working on. I want my entire life to be lived to glorify Him, not me. I want to display the fruit of the spirit and the qualities of love. I guess I will make this my new year’s resolution (even though it’s almost a month into 2010)

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.” Galatians 5:22-23

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.  Love never fails.” 1 Corinthians 13:4-8a

In case you were wondering, last semester wrapped up well. I got a 3.8 gpa, which is good. I didn’t do too much of interest over winter break I met up with some friends. And we got a new puppy! Here are some pictures of her:

About megannet

I am a self-motivated multimedia journalist seeking a career in the creative film and documentary industry. I am a recent graduate of Kent State University with a B.S. in Broadcast Journalism.

Leave a Reply

