Spring Semester 2010

The semester was off to a good start. I had the absolute best day last Tuesday.

I woke up in the morning feeling like P-Diddy. Grabbed my glasses, out the door. I’m gonna hit this city…

Haha. More like I woke up with the knowledge that my writing class had been cancelled, always a good feeling.

I was also keenly aware that I my first article was supposed to appear in the Daily Kent Stater, that morning. So I hurry getting ready, already behind schedule and take the steps leading past the main entrance to my residence hall and pick up two copies of the paper.

Now the day before had been relatively warm for an Ohio winter and it had been raining all weekend. My article was about surviving the winter at Kent State. So the weekend weather was not proving helpful for my article. The “relevance” factor that is part of good news was not there.

Yet as I walk out the door it is a blizzard outside. Everything is covered in snow and and wind is whipping around building corners and across campus like the Tasmanian Devil. Perfect relevance.

So now I am fighting the wind and snow, attempting to hurry to class, and look through the paper at the same time. This I must say is quite a feat. I search and I search and I am not seeing my article anywhere. I figure it must be on the last page and my heart sinks a bit.

A flip to the final page. And there it is. Whole page. Full color. Beautiful Graphics and layout.”Winter Survival Guide” and the byline reads: “Story by Margaret Thompsan.” I didn’t even realize the typo till later in the day.

You can read the article via Daily Kent Stater | Tues. Jan. 26 2010.

Needless to stay I was stoked.

The rest of the day was quite nice too. I got called up by TV2 to do a short interview about my article, received a perfect score on a speech in my speech class, and the rest of my classes went well.

About megannet

I am a self-motivated multimedia journalist seeking a career in the creative film and documentary industry. I am a recent graduate of Kent State University with a B.S. in Broadcast Journalism.

Leave a Reply

