I refuse to settle*

don't settleEverything I, as a follower of Christ, do is a display of Him.

I have been praying that God would work His will in my life so that I am defined by Him. And it hit me that in this way, everything I do is a representation of Him.

The speaker at church last Sunday said, “don’t fall asleep in class and tell people you are a Christian.” At the time, I thought it was overly critical of him. How does he know if I just stayed up all night writing 2 papers and studying for 3 exams? Where is his compassion?

But now it makes sense. Everything I do is a representation of Christ. Certainly having compassion is a Christ-like quality. But if I want Him to define me then falling asleep in class should not be a common occurence. I am pretty sure that Jesus never fell asleep during a sermon – or else I would have used it as an excuse – yet most all of us are guilty of it.

Our priorities should be arranged in a Christ-like way.

It comes to my attention that I need to be witnessing on campus. My actions should speak volumes about Christ.

I don’t want to settle for less. I don’t want to look back on a tragedy, a lost opportunity to serve. I want my goals to be His goals.

***

I was reading an article the other day. One of those filler trash ones that you read just to see if you’re at fault. Its title was something to the effect of “10 Reasons Why Women Are Still Single.”

Now singleton is something that has been bobbing around in my head quite a lot recently and I have come to the conclusion that I will wait for God to intervene in this part of my life. I am leaving Him up to the matchmaking and in the meantime I am building myself into a woman of God.

But back to the article. Somewhere on that list was the reason: women feel too entitled. Apparently we as women feel “there is always something better out there” as far as men go. Furthermore the article goes on with the advise “learn to love what is good for you.” Seriously? That is their advice: Settle.  Um… I don’t think so.  Now this was obviously not a Christian article, but I am applying it to my Christian life. And I refuse to settle. I refuse to waste my life not striving for the ultimate, not only with men but with everything. The ultimate thus being God’s will.

I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called [me] heavenward in Christ Jesus. Phil 3:13-1

Friday night I listened to a Christian woman speak on having friendships with men. And it was refreshing and disheartening at the same time. Having male friends makes you well-rounded. It is fun. It’s a good thing. And the speaker reassures us it is possible. But at the same point she tells us that the Christian men of our generation are lacking. And from my viewpoint this observation is all too much of a reality. And that is disheartening- because it makes the “finding a soul mate” all that much more difficult. Especially when you are not willing to settle for anyone who is less passionate about Christ than yourself.

Now before I continue allow me to clear up the fact that I am not sexist. The Christian women of our generation have their own issues to deal with.

***

An instance occurred last night. I went out to the Kiva to watch “Twilight: New Moon.” Of course the main character is asked to settle for the man who is supposedly good for her. She does not. (If, my fellow females, you ever find yourself in a relationship as violent, demanding, emotionally abusive, or life threatening as Bella I suggest you move out of Forks!). Anyway, I had been praying that God would let me see through His eyes (I have done this before) and you can see the yearning of every heart to be loved.

So the movie ended and I went off to the late night campus eatery to grab dinner at 2am. Waiting for my number to be called I hear a young man, no let me correct myself, an immature boy hassling the server: “B****, call my number! Call my number! Where’s my food b****!”

My heart broke right there.

The state of our generation. The self entitlement of one person over another. That server did not deserve to be attacked.

I later heard the boy explaining to his friend: “Some people have to be rude.” The security guard observed the situation, but since it had calmed down did nothing to correct it.

I left with a heavy heart, praying for the server as I made my way back to my dorm. I wish I would have said something. Told the server how much she was worth. I pray that she will find strength and self-worth in God.

What I am saying is: Don’t ask to see the world through God’s eyes, unless you want your heart-broken.

God does not ask us to settle for less. He invites us to partake in the very best He has to offer: a life with His son.

So I will not settle for less in the way I live my life, in the goals I hope to achieve, in the relationships I form, in the way I treat others, in the way I show the love of Christ.

There is no sound of settling, only satisfaction in serving Christ to the best of my abilities.

About megannet

I am a self-motivated multimedia journalist seeking a career in the creative film and documentary industry. I am a recent graduate of Kent State University with a B.S. in Broadcast Journalism.

Leave a Reply

