If only I didn’t say “if only”

I have decided not to say or think “if only” anymore. Similar to how teachers used to tell you don’t say “I can’t.” Which I suppose from a Biblical aspect you really shouldn’t have need to say [Philippians 4:13]. Yet not as simplistic because (not putting God in a box) but I really can’t buy a Jaguar at this very second or eat ice cream for every meal without getting sick. Rather I will not be thinking “if only” anymore.

Not to say there are not things that I do not want to change. But when I do find myself thinking if only this or if only that I am going to think well why if only? And if I see an opportunity for there not to be an if only anymore, I will fix it. In other words, if there comes a time I am dissatisfied with an event or object and I see an opportunity to make it so I am satisfied with it them I will change it.

I realize now that this sounds a bit egocentric, or even hedonistic. But I am not talking about things that will necessarily impact the lives of others; this is in my personal life. I’m not going to think “If only everyone wore pink, I would be so much happier.” First off that would be ridiculous. But for the sake of the example, I am not trying to change the minds or emotions of others to fit myself. or to make everything fit me, because I do not hold the standards for everything or even really anything in anyone’s life, except my own.

I am thinking more along the lines of “If only I had the money to pay for college, life would be easier” and instead thinking how can I earn more scholarships or increase my income, or look for mission trips that are funded.

One example is my decision to transfer to Kent State. When I was at the point thinking if only OSU had good journalism… I changed schools to one with a journalism program that would satisfy my wants.

I realize there will be things I cannot change, and in those instances I will simply take it as fact and be satisfied with where I am and look at the positives in the circumstances.

There is no reason to let these if onlys tie me down. I want to look at the positives and possibilities of the present. So it is all moving forward.

For He has satisfied the thirsty soul, And the hungry soul He has filled with what is good. Psalm 107:9

As I follow after Christ I don’t want there to be any if onlys in our relationship not if I am putting in all my energies.

In the words of John Piper, “God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in Him.”


About megannet

I am a self-motivated multimedia journalist seeking a career in the creative film and documentary industry. I am a recent graduate of Kent State University with a B.S. in Broadcast Journalism.

Leave a Reply

