Lessons on Beauty

You know how they say when you are in love everything looks beautiful? Well over the summer I fell in love with God. I have always loved God, but to be in love with Him is completely different.

It is fall now. I love the fall. I wouldn’t say it is my favorite season, but I enjoy the changing of leaves, the richness of the harvest, and the warmth of sweaters. I also love that it is the season of Thanksgiving. There are a lot of things that I am not the biggest fan of fall for though: wet feet, cracked knuckles, lost umbrellas, overly busy Starbucks, waking up cold…but when you are in love even these things look a bit beautiful.

Suddenly the struggle of life is gorgeous. It’s like a war movie, the fighting maybe gory but knowing the protagonist has a fiance at home makes his fight for life a beautiful tale. No one is fighting harder for my life than Jesus. And there is nothing in my life that I will fight harder for than my relationship with Him. With these words I stir the anger of the enemy and he is not slow in his attacks.

Last night I was attacked. Being away from the Jesus family I grew so close to this summer has been hard. When I get home from a long day of work or classes, all I want is a smile from one of my sisters or brothers. It is Satan’s plan for me to feel isolated here in Kent and he whispered it in my ear all night long.

But Gods says, “We put no stumbling block in anyone’s path, so that our ministry will not be discredited. Rather, as servants of God we commend ourselves in every way: in great endurance; in troubles, hardships and distresses; in beatings, imprisonments and riots; in hard work, sleepless nights and hunger; in purity, understanding, patience and kindness; in the Holy Spirit and in sincere love; in truthful speech and in the power of God; with weapons of righteousness in the right hand and in the left; through glory and dishonor, bad report and good report; genuine, yet regarded as impostors; known, yet regarded as unknown; dying, and yet we live on; beaten, and yet not killed; sorrowful, yet always rejoicing; poor, yet making many rich; having nothing, and yet possessing everything.” 2 Corinthians 6:3-10

So I slept and I woke up and I went to class. And I carried on my day like normal till I was walking back to my house to make some lunch. I looked down and there was a four-leaf clover, a big one. And I literally just stood there staring at it for a minute until I realized it was God saying hello. He was catching my attention for just a second. Reminding me that when the nights are long and sleepless and Satan is attacking, that life is still beautiful. That the only thing that is important is me and Him. Our hearts are tied together.

I picked my reminder and continued walking. As I rounded the corner my little neighbor was out. He is probably just about four years old. Standing in his yard with his matching blue and red pajamas on under a jacket he gave me a wave and a smile. So precious. It is nice to think that is how God sees us. He lets us wake up late and wear our jammies outside. And He is the type of dad that would be sure we had matching pjs. We are so little in comparison to His love. We make mistakes, spill things on ourselves, track mud into the house…He gives us correction, wipes our snotty noses. He calls us to be children.

What is amazing is that from childhood to adulthood, each step of the way is a masterpiece. In Ephesians it says, “For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago”(Eph. 2:10 NLT). Wow!

Masterpieces are so rare and take the lifetime of a great artist. They don’t just occur every day. You are God’s very best work. And what is more amazing is that God is such a profound artist in His creation that the first brush stroke on His canvas is enough to be a masterpiece. And then He added the next stroke and it is a masterpiece too! And on and on. Every step of our life is gorgeous in His eyes.

Some times we look at the canvas and think, “No this is not beautiful. This place I am at is ugly. And where I have been in my past and the sin I have fallen into has dirtied the brushes.” No! We are wrong in these thoughts! Our perception is too narrow, too human to understand. Don’t we know that Jesus painted mud on the eyes of a blind man and his sight was restored!

Each step of our lives brings us closer to God, gives us new understanding of Him, gives us the chance to go from glory to glory. A step may be a struggle that is painful but looking back on it and the perseverance through it we see the love story of the war film. All the while as God paints, He has the final picture in His mind. It is through the process that He pours out His love.

Maybe we each live different lives because God is not satisfied to pour out His love in just one way. It is too forceful of a river to be held back, it burst forth in rivers and streams that flow differently over each of our lives.

Do you know what else? I went to a concert last week and heard music so beautiful that it made me want to close my eyes just so only my auditory senses could focus despite paying the money to go see the band. It was music that inspired me to love life. To live a life satisfied where ever God placed me, whether it is in a small town or traveling across the world.

I thought to myself at the concert, there must be a great love that was the muse for these gorgeous melodies. And wouldn’t it be amazing to be the type of woman who inspired something so amazing. And then I took it a step farther, wouldn’t it just be amazing to live a life that inspires others to live beautifully. And then God said to me “I did.” God did and does! His love inspires all beauty. Jesus lived in a way that inspires us to walk beautiful lives. And you see I am in love with Him and everything is beautiful. Though the world and its ways break His heart, He looks on it in love. My view of the world has been rose-tinted by the blood of Christ.

 
*the majority of this blog post sprung out of a letter I wrote to one of my dear Jesus brothers :)
About megannet

I am a self-motivated multimedia journalist seeking a career in the creative film and documentary industry. I am a recent graduate of Kent State University with a B.S. in Broadcast Journalism.

One comment

  1. Katy

    This is a beautiful reminder :) i love you and cannot WAIT to see you next weekend!

Leave a Reply

