My Beloved Husband & my beloved husband

I have been asking God to draw me away. To lift my feet off this ground and to pull me into His heart.

Many times among the thirsty throngs of college Christians, the topic of marriage arises. I have been praying for my husband since I was 15. That’s quite a while. I love him. He is blessed. He is handsome beyond compare. His heart is deep. His compassion is wide. His tenderness and strength are so great that imagining one person with such massive amounts of both seems the ultimate juxtaposition. He is keen. He is caring. He is adventurous and well-grounded. He is wild about Jesus. He is a man after God’s own heart. He understands heart-break and love sickness, yet he carries no chip on his shoulder. He dreams about me and prays for me. He is the greatest person I will ever know.

I love him.

And I lay him down.

I put him in the hands of my Husband. In the hands of my Best Friend. In the hands of my Father. In the hands of the One I know and trust the most. The One who knows my desires and how much I care for this man I have not met. I do not lay him down as a sacrifice, but lift him up to my Father. He knows how to care for him. He knows when to bring him to me or me to him.

I have a long journey ahead. I have a Companion who is eternal. He will fulfill my dreams and desires. I have a child-like faith to say He will provide him in His perfect timing. I have no doubt. I have no fear.

My heart flutters for my Father. My breath catches at His voice. He encompasses my very being. He hems me in behind and before, clinging closer than Saran wrap. He walks beside me. He is comfortable. He is knowledgable. He is tender-hearted. I am His sheep and He will carry me to fields of green. He will teach me. He will feed me. He will prepare me. He will love me. He has always loved me. He is loving me.

He is drawing me away. He is pulling me into His heart, where I love Him, where I love His plans. Where my daily prayer becomes: let me partner with You. May Your will be done. May my dreams match with Your will. May my life be lived to bring You glory. May I find Your grace and satisfaction in my singleness. Thank you that I am not attached to anyone, that I might serve You fully, that I might do the work that You have laid before me. You are so good. You are so kind. You are so gracious. And when the time comes that I need a husband to carry out Your will, I know You will provide. I love you for that, for your provision, for your goodness, for your first love. I will not forget my first love. It is You Jesus, in whom I am more than satisfied. I love You. You set me free.

 

Oh give thanks to the LORD, for he is good;
for his steadfast love endures forever!
Let Israel say,
“His steadfast love endures forever.”
Let the house of Aaron say,
“His steadfast love endures forever.”
Let those who fear the LORD say,
“His steadfast love endures forever.”
Out of my distress I called on the LORD;
the LORD answered me and set me free.
The LORD is on my side; I will not fear.
What can man do to me?
The LORD is on my side as my helper;
I shall look in triumph on those who hate me.
It is better to take refuge in the LORD
        than to trust in man.
It is better to take refuge in the LORD
 than to trust in princes.
All nations surrounded me;
in the name of the LORD I cut them off!
They surrounded me, surrounded me on every side;
in the name of the LORD I cut them off!
They surrounded me like bees;
they went out like a fire among thorns;
in the name of the LORD I cut them off!
 I was pushed hard, so that I was falling,
        but the LORD helped me.
The LORD is my strength and my song;
he has become my salvation.
Glad songs of salvation
are in the tents of the righteous:
“The right hand of the LORD does valiantly,
the right hand of the LORD exalts,
the right hand of the LORD does valiantly!”
 I shall not die, but I shall live,
and recount the deeds of the LORD.
The LORD has disciplined me severely,
        but he has not given me over to death.
Open to me the gates of righteousness,
        that I may enter through them
and give thanks to the LORD.
This is the gate of the LORD;
the righteous shall enter through it.
 I thank you that you have answered me
        and have become my salvation.
The stone that the builders rejected
has become the cornerstone.
This is the LORD’s doing;
it is marvelous in our eyes.
This is the day that the LORD has made;
let us rejoice and be glad in it.
Save us, we pray, O LORD!
O LORD, we pray, give us success!
Blessed is he who comes in the name of the LORD!
We bless you from the house of the LORD.
The LORD is God,
and he has made his light to shine upon us.
Bind the festal sacrifice with cords,
up to the horns of the altar!
You are my God, and I will give thanks to you;
you are my God; I will extol you.
Oh give thanks to the LORD, for he is good;
for his steadfast love endures forever!

                                           “

(Psalm 118 ESV)

About megannet

I am a self-motivated multimedia journalist seeking a career in the creative film and documentary industry. I am a recent graduate of Kent State University with a B.S. in Broadcast Journalism.

One comment

  1. so good, Annie, I love this! Praying you have a really good day today :)

Leave a Reply

