Love is a verb. It takes practice.

{Author’s Note: This post is one in a series on the vague and broad topic of love.}

What if I said love does not come naturally? Affection comes naturally. There are people we enjoy being around and enjoy loving on because we are drawn to them. But we are not called only to love those we find affection for. We are called to love all.

Today I drove my car. I changed out CDs, fiddled with the windows, drank coffee, all while driving. Five or six years ago I could not do this. I learned to drive in a school parking lot with my mom. In an Astro van. And I drove s-l-o-w. I never would have dared to take a hand off the steering wheel. Driving now comes naturally. I go the speed limit (…and sometimes a little more). Maneuvering around obstacles is not so much a challenge. But when I began it was. I hit two cones on my maneuverability test (I still don’t know why I got passed).

Before I could get to where I am now, I had to be taught. And I had to drive A LOT.

The Holy Spirit is our love instructor. Because you see love does not come naturally. We pass by people on a daily basis and hold no love towards them. We have certain people groups: the elderly, the homeless, the ex-boyfriends, etc. that for some reason it is hard to love.

We need to see through the eyes of God. For God so loved the world, [the Christians, the atheists, the elderly, the masochists, the arrogant, whatever group you find difficult to love, the snooty customers, everyone…] that He sent His only beloved son.

God’s love produced action- sending His son. And Jesus’ love produced action- He cried blood, turned tables, broke bread, out of love. He didn’t just sit there and think “Boy, I love these people,” He knelt down and washed their feet, offered Himself as a living sacrifice. Love is more than a feeling or thought. It should make you sweat and cry.

After nearly a decade of walking with Jesus, I am just now coming into a state where love is natural. I have a few fender-benders here and there and hit a few bumpers, but I am getting there. Loving well is the greatest compliment for me because it means I am transforming into a Christ-like person. God is love. Picking up this characteristic of God is so important to me and to Him.

Once we have love in our hearts, once we see others through the teary eyes of the Father, then we must go and do.

So this is a call to learn to love. It does not come naturally, it takes practice. This is a call to practice love. Are we doing love? Or just thinking and saying.

Love should move us. Physically. Emotionally. Mentally. Spiritually.

{In the end, as much as I wish I could teach how to love, I cannot. But there is One who can and who is willing. The Helper who will make known to you all things. Together the Holy Spirit and I are going to explore this topic. You are more than welcome to join us.}
About megannet

I am a self-motivated multimedia journalist seeking a career in the creative film and documentary industry. I am a recent graduate of Kent State University with a B.S. in Broadcast Journalism.

One comment

  1. This is terrific….really glad you have shared your insights and such spiritual truth!

    These lines especially impacted me:

    “The Holy Spirit is our love instructor. Because you see love does not come naturally. We pass by people on a daily basis and hold no love towards them. “

Leave a Reply

