I will not have a hyphenated last name

It is just one of those unaware things. Most of us, I believe, do not realize how deeply we can hurt others through only small actions. Likewise I don’t believe we understand quite the depth of hurt we can feel, that is until something strikingly tragic or heart-crushing happens to us. And perhaps in our ignorance of our own depth, we neglect to understand God’s heights.

We put ourselves in mirrored boxes so everywhere we look we see ourselves.  We Christians do this and then we call it “freedom.” We say who the Son sets free is free indeed. And we give ourselves permission to be self-centered, where every relationship formed benefits us. Every job worked, every dollar earned and even donated turns back to us. We take take take and ask ask ask. We define an abundant life as one where we are content in our wealth, our friendships, our careers, our futures. Or sometimes in a different stream, our talents, our gifts, our prophetic words, our role in visions, our necessity in community.

It is the emptiest place to be. Where every action is tied back to oneself. Where our hearts are cozy in a pile of deceit and disregard for others.

Where I am now it is easy to focus everything on myself. I don’t have anyone nearby to focus on. I don’t have anyone to guard my heart from— except myself. So where I am in a position to forward myself through everything I do, I must fight not to put myself in that mirrored box.

I must live by God’s definitions of success and abundance. I must see freedom as a place with no walls, yet where He is the Repairer of Broken Walls, where He seals the cracks that we have let lies slip through.

A bride becomes ready through preparing to lay down her name. You see when Jesus comes there will be no hyphenated last name. No Margaret Anne Thompson-Christ have you, but simply Jesus and His Church. The name of every family is after the Father’s.

I don’t want to live for a hyphenated last name. I want to live knowing I am hidden in Him and will rise with His glory. As one, not separate. If we really lived that way, how could we even look in a mirror when Moses was only permitted to glimpse the Father’s back.

Lay down your mirrors for the sake of indulging in your rich identity found in Christ. Beauty comes from His words.

Lay it down, your struggles, your navel gazing, your sins. Lay it down gently. And without a grudge. Let this action be blessed.

It is not wrong to desire what is good. It is wrong to find satisfaction for these desires through sub-par means, through sin. It is wrong to assume you are above desiring what is good. Desiring what is good is a characteristic of God.

Father,

May we, may I, realize our true location is seated in Heavenly places, at the right hand of God. May we find our identity nestled in Your heart. May we break out of the glass boxes. May we set our hearts on things above. May we recognize our glory in Christ, that we will be raised in Him — in Him, whose body radiates like a gem, we find ourselves in green pastures. May we desire what is good, while being satisfied in Your favor.

May we strip off the works of darkness and put on the armor of light. May we wait with lamps ready.

Amen

Colossians 3:1-4

“Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things. For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God. When Christ, who is your life, appears, then you also will appear with him in glory.”

About megannet

I am a self-motivated multimedia journalist seeking a career in the creative film and documentary industry. I am a recent graduate of Kent State University with a B.S. in Broadcast Journalism.

One comment

  1. Tim Wright

    Thanks for this, very encouraging!

Leave a Reply

